Phone Email Search
search email phone translate arrow-left explore-more crucifix arrow-right
School Logo

St Barnabas

& St Paul's Church of England Primary School


Phonics is taught throughout EYFS and Key Stage 1.

At St Barnabas and St Paul’s we use the Letters and Sounds programme.

This can be found at or as an attachment on this page.


Phonics provides the building blocks of learning to read and write.

In Reception children learn Phase 1 (listening for, making and saying different sounds), Phase 2 (the sounds the letters of the alphabet make, what they look like and how we can put them together to read – blending or split words into them for spelling - segmenting). They begin to learn to read tricky words, Phase 3 (How letters are written, the 44 sounds in the English language including digraphs – 2 sounds working together e.g. sh as in shop - and trigraphs – 3 sounds working together e.g. igh as in night. Throughout this phase children begin to read and write simple sentences. Children also learn to write as well as read tricky words.  Most children will also learn Phase 4 in Reception – words that have consonants together e.g. tree.


In Year 1 children learn Phase 5 – In this phase children learn all the different ways a sound can be written e.g. ee (sheep) can be written ea (tea), e_e (here), ie (field), y (happy), ey (monkey). They learn the different pronunciation of sounds e.g. a in hat, acorn, what. They continue reading and writing sentences and learning more high frequency words.

In Year 2 children learn Phase 6  - In this phase children learn about past tense and spelling patterns such as word endings (suffixes) such as ed and word beginnings (prefixes) such as un. They learn to spell longer words, look for difficult bits in words and develop more independence when reading and spelling.

Letters and sounds